The Caribbean Community and Common Market (CARICOM) was established by the original Treaty of Chaguaramas, which was signed by Barbados, Jamaica, Guyana and Trinidad & Tobago and came into effect on August 1, 1973.  

Back to its birthplace after 36 years - CARIFESTA X Guyana 2008 : celebrating the Caribbean - Guyana style

The Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas establishing the Caribbean Community including the CARICOM Single Market and Economy (CSME) was signed in July 2001. The main objectives of the CSME are full use of labour; full exploitation of the other factors of production; competitive production leading to greater variety of, and quality and quantity of products and services, thereby providing greater capacity to trade with other countries.

CARIFESTA 2006 launched

CARICOM currently has 15 Member States and 5 Associate Member States.

The Caribbean Community Secretariat is contributing materials to the Digital Library of the Caribbean project. The initial resources selected, document the history of the Caribbean Festival of Creative Arts - CARIFESTA  which was first held in 1972 in Georgetown, Guyana – where the Headquarters of the CARIBBEAN COMMUNITY is located.   

In 2012, approval was granted to submit new material, commencing with information on the Regional ISBN Programme which is administered by the Documentation Centre for 12 member states of the CARICOM   excluding Haiti and Suriname which have their own National ISBN Agency and Montserrat, administered by UK ISBN Agency.